Home > The Secret World > Investigating Egypt

Investigating Egypt

January 4, 2013

I have played through most of the missions in the Scorched Desert zone in The Secret World now; in this zone there are three different investigation missions:

  • The Big Terrible Picture
  • Angels & Demons
  • Unburnt Bush

I am not going to go into details about the puzzles in these missions; I do not want to spoil anything for anyone that has not played them. At least not in clear text, there are some comments in bullet points below, but you have to crack the puzzle of decoding them if you want to read them.

The order in which I played these missions were in the order they are listed above. I did figure out the way to solve the puzzles in all three of the missions, but there was an increasing about of frustration with these missions, from no frustration with The Big Terrible Picture to a fair amount of frustration with Unburnt Bush. In the last mission it part of the frustration came from a technical issue so to speak.

TBTP1
The mission The Big Terrible Picture takes place in some Egyptian ruins, which happens to be inside one of the Lair areas in the game. Fortunately if you are not at an appropriate QL to handle the mobs in there you can still do the mission without running into any of these enemies. Just do not stray off the path that is given to you by the mission. There is a spot near the second puzzle that will get you close to some enemies in the area; just watch your step and you should be ok.

The second mission, Angels & Demons, takes place in and near the town of al-Merayah and is the one with the fewest tiers. It was interesting also because it added some pieces to the puzzle of the overall story around the area; although perhaps it raised more questions than it answered from that point of view – but in a good way.

UB1
The third mission takes place in various places in the zone; this one I ended up looking up on tier 2 after quite a while – I was quite sure I had a proper solution, but was not able to progress. It turned out that my solution was correct, but there may have been an issue where I was standing perhaps that caused problems. Moving a bit resolved the problem – that was frustrating because it had nothing to with the puzzle itself.  Once I managed past that point the rest was quicker to do.

A good thing about these investigation missions is that you may learn something; in two of the missions I learned some new things and in the remaining mission I dusted off some old knowledge revisiting some texts that I had not read in decades.

Despite some of the frustrations I very much enjoyed playing these missions; it was enjoyable in the end. I put a few comments and hints below, although the text below has 1-2 levels of obfuscation. For most of you there are two levels to deal with; these have also been inspired by the missions themselves.

  • Xbzznaqbg ‘/cenl’ xna inen alggvtg. Uåyy xbyy cå ine qrg svaaf ywhf bpxfå
  • Naiäaq xelcgrevatzrgbqra fbz svaaf v Cbr’f irex
  • Unaf rsgreanza äe unaf yöfrabeq
  • Uroervfxn bpu nenovfxn naiäaqf. Rsgre gvre 1 sbxhfren cå uroervfxn grkgra bpu bztviavatnean.
  • Xunyvq bpu Zbfrf une ra qry trzrafnzg
Categories: The Secret World
  1. January 4, 2013 at 22:48

    Nice work, Sente! Caesar and Loki would both be proud of you.

    Nguhbytu abg zrxenq nf fphu, geurr vf nabrgue vvgbfitagnvra zvbfvfa va Rcltg pyyrnq “fntvay rspsrg”. Vg unf rira zebr przcbyk reavbcagplf. Uinr lbh qbar gung bar nf jryy? Vs abg V utuyvl epzazrbrq lbh cvpx vg hc oersbr tbvat qbja gb gur Pgvl.

    • January 5, 2013 at 01:34

      Yes, I have done that mission, nice touch with the reply 🙂

      Unfortunately I did not think of saving the output until the last dish and I could not find a way to get it back. So I ended up looking up parts of it to move on.

      Had it been marked as an investigation mission I would have paid more attention.

  2. January 4, 2013 at 22:49

    Nice work, Sente! Caesar and Loki would both be proud of you.

  3. January 4, 2013 at 23:01

    Aargh. I struggled for an hour to make a clever fitting reply, but it seems that wordpress.com thinks I am a hack and spammer, and is blocking the comment. So I made a quick post of it on my own (dead) blog: http://yammob.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/for-sente.html

    (I hope http coding will work here)

    • January 5, 2013 at 01:35

      They were in the spam queue, but I approved one of the attempts now.

      • January 5, 2013 at 11:17

        Haha, so I ended up a real spammer. Sorry about that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.