Home > City of Heroes > The Super Packs

The Super Packs

February 16, 2012

Paragon Studios has announced a new addition to their game store for City of Heroes – the Super Packs. This has stirred up a fair amount of discussion because it is the first time that there is a store item where you do not know what you will get – sort of a lottery ticket.

Most people seem to be either very much in favour of the Super Packs or very much against them – not many people stay neutral on this subject. Personally I am on the against side of things here. While the rewards and reward ratios are probably significantly less evil than some 0ther game companies have for example (Perf *cough* ect World), it is still a kind of lottery/gamble.

Categories: City of Heroes
  1. February 16, 2012 at 16:28

    When I read about it my only thought was that it is stuff I don’t care for. But I can imagine that if it is a success they will add more Super Packs, but now with items I do care for. And then I might have to spend more Paragon Points to get the items I want than if I could buy they right away. But I am still not too concerned. Up to now I have been using my Paragon Points to buy power sets and costume pieces I haven’t used at all yet. As subscription player I am receiving enough Paragon Points each month to satisfy my compulsive behaviours.

  2. February 16, 2012 at 18:17

    Adding “gambling elements” seems to be really popular in FtP MMOs these days. STO and LoTRO just added treasure boxes that can only be opened with keys that are very difficult to get without using keys from their item shops. When STO tested the waters with a similar system a few months ago they made tons of money during the time it was active due to a few players spending inordinate amounts to get all the items they wanted. I expect to see this system popping up in most of the FtP MMOs I play.

  3. February 18, 2012 at 12:08

    I have been supportive of the F2P/Hybrid transition because it gives people more options on how to pay for their game and also being pretty transparent and clear what you get when you pay for something and how much you need to pay.

    Adding lottery/gambling type offers for real money is going much in the wrong direction I think, even if what may be offered in these packages are “not too bad”.

    • February 19, 2012 at 01:06

      I completely agree. I prefer FtP as a general model to subs. I don’t like having to buy a client to try a game, and I like being able to pay only for what I want. This latest wrongheaded (in my mind) move by three studios at once really has me spooked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.