Home > City of Heroes > The end of awesome, with awesome

The end of awesome, with awesome

September 2, 2012

I have not been in the mood for much MMO gaming this weekend, which is mainly due to the announcement that NCSoft is closing down Paragon Studios and City of Heroes. I did jump into City of Heroes for a bit on Sunday though, chatting and and a bit of raiding (Rikti Mothership) and some other things.

There was a lot of talk around the shut down announcement of course, a bit of sadness, bitterness but also a lot of “let’s make the most of it while we can”. There was a bit of talk about other MMOs to move on to as well, with quite diverging opinions. Some people may think that a lot of CoH players would move to Chanpions Online perhaps, or DCUO. Some may do that, but I do honestly not think that there will be that many moving to these games.

For me and a lot of other people the comic book superhero aspect is not the key element . I would say it is the combination of a great community and a great group of developers who communicate and interact with their players in a great manner, plus also a game with many great features that encourages people to have great fun with each other. I cannot say that I have experienced the same combination in any other MMO yet.

I have spent a fair amount of time reading in the forums – not something I usually do since I prefer to play the games, but this is certainly not a usual situation.  There has been a number of posts from some of the developers & community managers, including War Witch, Positron, Hit Streak, Freitag, Tunnel Rat, Dr Aeon, TheNet, Zwillinger and Fire Man.

There is also a thread with people posting real-life pictures and stories about themselves.

Many people want to boycott anything that NCSoft is involved with, which of course includes Guild Wars 2 in particular given its recent launch. While I can certainly understand the feeling to want to punish the company for this action I am not so sure that this would be suitable approach. In fact, Guild Wars 2 is one game that has the potential to reach that community+developer+feature combination that made City of Heroes special. Although I think it will be too popular for that to work out.

As an ending to this post (need to get up in 4 hours, time to get to sleep…) here is a blooper video that Black Pebble posted to the forums:

Categories: City of Heroes
  1. September 3, 2012 at 00:19

    The combination of story/powersets/community and developers gave the game it’s unique feel, Champions didn’t feel anything like it. Which considering the persons involved you expected it too. However it just goes to show that the right people were in control at Paragon and build such a great game with the most loyal fan base I’ve ever been part of.

  2. September 3, 2012 at 01:45

    I have to agree that CO is not really a good substitute for COH. The combat is a bit faster paced, but I’d call it a downgrade over CoH in almost every other way. Plus, FtP players can’t make custom builds, which makes the game feel more class based than the flexible systems of CoH.

  3. sente
    September 3, 2012 at 06:51

    CO has improved, but it is still a quite different experience all things considered. I have a lifetime subscription for CO, which I bought just because it was made by the company that had created City of Heroes. I do not regret buying that, but CO is no substitute or replacement for City of Heroes IMHO. It has its own identity, but lacks the developer-community bond of City of Heroes. Games can get good communities without too much effort from the developer company, but really great communities are formed through symbiosis of the developers, the players and the features put into the game. You need all those pieces.

  4. September 3, 2012 at 16:53

    We had a sad and reminiscent afternoon with our static team yesterday. We pulled out our very first 50s from 6 years ago and started the 2nd Signature Story Arc. The game is still so much fun. I will miss it dearly. It felt like an whole era of my life came to an abrupt end.

    The others in my group reactivated their Champions account. I didn’t like that game when it came out. Playing it now will feel like desperately clinging on to something that will be gone. I will probably drift away from my spandex friends. But the great memories will always be there.

    Hopefully the folks from the Paragon Studio will be tasked to make something new that will get me hooked as much and as long as City of Heroes.

    From now till November 30th I’ll try to play City of Heroes as much as possible. My very first character (an El/El/El blaster) still need to complete her last 4 levels. And so many others that I want to re-live. I’m not going to boycott ncsoft, but I doubt I’ll get the chance to play any GW2 now till I have put every single villain in jail.

  1. September 3, 2012 at 23:47
Comments are closed.
