Home > City of Heroes > City of Heroes: Freedom launched – in stealth mode

City of Heroes: Freedom launched – in stealth mode

September 23, 2011

Paragon Studios seems to be taking a quite gradual approach to launching their new hybrid business model version of the game. About 1 1/2 week the VIP headstart with the new Issue 21 – Convergence. And now there is time for the premium players, i.e. everyone that at some point in the past have subscribed to the game.

However, as the announcement says, they do not activate all of the accounts at once.  However, since they also say that all free players will get into the game next week, I would assume that all premium player accounts will get in this weekend at some point, or possibly early next week.

So if you have ever played City of Heroes before and remember what your account may be you could start to get the update. There is a download link on that announement page, if you do not have the software installed.

So sneak in and join the rest of us 🙂

Categories: City of Heroes
  1. September 24, 2011 at 00:03

    Thanks for the heads up! I think a large mob of us are coming over to CoH for a holiday this week – Union server, I believe!

  2. September 24, 2011 at 00:37

    This was not on my radar at all for this weekend. I will certainly get the update done if nothing else.

  3. September 24, 2011 at 12:12

    Hmmm… Champions Online or City of Heroes. I gave up on City of Heroes back in 2004, when World of Warcraft came out. I think after seven years its high time I gave the MMO another shot? Or should I just stick to the new kid on the block?

    • September 24, 2011 at 14:05

      I played in the City of Heroes European beta right before the WoW Euro launch and did not continue there, but played WoW instead then. It is quite safe to say the game as changed a bit since then.

      In terms of amount of content available City of Heroes is in the lead – they are after all 7+ years also. But the rate that which new content is provided might be higher also.

      My own preference is with City of Heroes, but I am a lifetimer with Champions also. With DCUO also changing business model later there are some options to choose from.

      • September 26, 2011 at 15:12

        You know you really haven’t made this any easier!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
