Home > Dark Age of Camelot > Fixing and improving the old

Fixing and improving the old

June 10, 2011

I do not quite remember what the reason was, somewhere in some post Dark Age of Camelot (DAOC) was mentioned. This is one of the old games that are still around that I never played – when DAOC was released I was busy with Anarchy Online and I was not too eager to go to a more fantasy oriented game. I do remember that it had a pretty good launch (in comparision to some other games) and over the years their Realm vs Realm  (RvR) feature has been mentioned by many as something good. But that is pretty much as far as my knowledge of the game stretches.

Anyway, on their website I read a fairly recent post on the Camelot Herald, which I found interesting:

  • They are working on improving the new player experience and including gameplay features that should help people get into RvR and perhaps other aspects than hitting things. This is rather cool I think – most MMO tutorial does not try to teach you anything at all about playing in a team or how to play various types of support roles/features. Or it is perhaps just showing the sad state of affairs of MMO tutorials if they barely do anything beyond how you move, how you hit stuff and how you loot and equip things.
  • They have also hired some new people and those people are working on making these improvements. This certainly sounds like there is some investment in trying to get more people to play the game. Since the game is almost 10 years old and has released 6 expansions, presumably they have a fair amount of content. Content that they might think people would find value in.
I would not at all be surprised to see more and more of gentle pushes towards getting some old MMOs back in the spotlight.
Categories: Dark Age of Camelot
  1. June 14, 2011 at 17:50

    I’d hazard to guess I was the one that brought up DAoC. It was the first MMO that ever really clicked for me. It’s good to hear that they are revamping the new player experience. The game deserves a lot more credit than it gets. The sheer number of play options you have in it is pretty staggering.

  2. June 15, 2011 at 18:49

    Whenever they are done with that new player experience update I will probably try it out. I have not played any of Mythic’s games and this one looks like a good choice if any of them should be tested.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
