Home > Istaria > The Istaria surprise

The Istaria surprise

February 16, 2011

I browse through the RSS feed from Massively somewhat regularly and I was a bit surprised when I saw this entry, Istaria’s February patch brings a big batch of fixes. Surprised, because I realized this was the old game Horizons, a game I had no idea that it was still alive and kicking!

I had a brief period when I played Horizons; I think it was close after it launched; it was winter and it may have been the 2003/2004 winter, but my memory is a bit fuzzy here (old age and everything…;))

The game was pretty much killed for me then by their IP address restrictions – as a Swede I was not able to play with my MMO friends then, which were pretty much all of them in the US back then. So my visit in the game was quite short (some of us joined up in other games later).

Looking at how they describe the game Istaria today, it definitely sounds like something I would consider playing:

  • Open skill development
  • Cooperative play encouraged
  • Exploration encouraged
  • Most things are/can be crafted, housing and other things can be built.
  • Short game sessions very much viable

The game has a “free beer” option today, but it seems that it you are going to be a full-fledged customer, you will need to pay a subscription it seems. That is a bit of a disappointment, but it will still be put on my to-do list for games to try out. Not sure exactly when there will be time for that, but it is on my radar now anyway.

 

Categories: Istaria
  1. orlun
    February 18, 2011 at 15:57

    I played Horizons at release for a month… it was interesting but the release lag and bugs drove me to not subscribe. Now, ten years later I learned about the free to play option and a month ago… loaded it up. My play style these days is such that I do not really care about long term progression or advancement… just a place to hang out and casually tradeskill, chat and see the sights. I am surprised at how enjoyable the world is. Crafting is some of the best I have seen. The world is pretty and the lore is better then expected. I roled the free to play Human race character on the Role Play encouraged server and though it is not crowded I see players all the time. They have consolidated the starting areas over the years to funnel new players together to some extent but that is to be expected in a lower population game. I’d recommend you to give it a try if you are curious or in between other games.

    • February 19, 2011 at 07:31

      That sounds good to me; it will certainly be worth a look.

  2. February 21, 2011 at 18:39

    I’ve just started this on as part of my ‘Sandbox Challenge’ series. Haven’t logged much time on it yet, and haven’t blogged about it either. Hopefully will get to it next week- I HAD to start as a Dragon- of course!- so I’m only on the 2-week free trial.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
