Home > MMO Games > Writing like who?

Writing like who?

July 28, 2010

I saw this amusing post at The Ancient Gaming Noob who in turn had seen it at World IV and decided to try a few of my blog posts:

Post 1: Leo Ericsson – Into the hole

This post was pretty much a fiction post rather than normal MMO ranting. The result was

I write like
Arthur C. Clarke

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Really good start!

Next post, one which was about some adventures with a character in Tabula Rasa: Brann new Fedex

The result was:

I write like
Arthur C. Clarke

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Another one, quite nice. The SciFi setting probably helps.

Third post, more fantasy oriented: Wolf of the jungle

The result was:

I write like
Rudyard Kipling

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I have a strong suspicion that the usage of the word jungle might have affected the results here…

One final attempt, a fake MMO announcement from an old April 1st post: World of Baywatch Online soon to enter open beta

And the result here was:

I write like
H. P. Lovecraft

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I have no clue what makes this similar to Lovecraft. It is certainly a scary topic, but…

The same site that hosts this software has a link to a Q&A article with the author of the software.

Categories: MMO Games
  1. July 28, 2010 at 12:59

    After this site compared my sister’s writing to Edgar Allen Poe, she fed some of Poe’s work to it, and it said Poe’s writing was similar to Lovecraft’s….

  2. Tesh
    July 28, 2010 at 18:11

    I tried a few articles… with odd results. I got Lovecraft on one… but earlier, the same text (minus a few very minor edits) resulted in someone else entirely. Other articles I tried got Arthur Clarke (minus the C., oddly enough) and Cory Doctorow.

    Overall, I’m vaguely insulted, though I like Clarke, and will take that one happily.

    Thanks for the link on the Q&A! It’s definitely a wonky algorithm.

  3. July 29, 2010 at 00:33

    I got some guy I’d never heard of for my blog posts, but Neil Gaimen for a piece of fiction. I’ll take it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
