Home > City of Heroes > Great minds think alike – or something?

Great minds think alike – or something?

July 22, 2010

In the past week I have been working a bit now and then to create a new story arc in Mission Architect. It consists of a main story and a side story which mixes with each other. In the end the side story will get in the focus, possibly a surprise for the player if he/she has not paid attention.

This is all well, although a bit of a balance to provide the right amount of emphasis on each story.

A problem is now with the main story. In order to refine the story a bit I did some research on the villains and villain groups I have in the story. In doing that I found a story arc that already exists in the game that is quite similar to what I have written. The same three villain groups are involved and the relationships between these three are almost the same.

So now I am thinking what to do – shall I try to make a sequel to the story arc in the game, or scrap the whole thing? Or do something similar but with some change in villain groups?

In a way I am pleased because my thinking of a story was canon to the point that it was quite similar to an existing arc. But I would not get any points for originality, even though I had no recollection of that arc before I started.

It will probably be an entirely new story, but perhaps a bit more research before I start working on it.

Categories: City of Heroes
  1. Glazius
    July 23, 2010 at 18:54

    Well, it depends on whether the relationship is unique to the storyarc. I wouldn’t complain about the Warriors funneling artifacts to the Outcasts, or the Malta hiring the Knives of Artemis, because these are more facts of canon than plot twists. But finding out that a plot twist you’ve planned has already been done? That’s pretty cold.

  2. July 23, 2010 at 19:24

    It is not exactly the same, but it is close and it is somewhat unique to the story arc in the game. Although I am thinking of changing it in some parts and tie it in with the original arc somewhat – will see how it works out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
