Home > Gadgets > Mobile boot times

Mobile boot times

April 21, 2010

Because it always has annoyed me that my work mobile phone takes a long time to start, I decided to time it (yes, nothing better to do right now)

Boot-up time until PIN/Login code prompt

  • HTC TouchPro (Windows Mobile 6.1-based)   –  62 seconds
  • Nokia Xpress Music  –  17 seconds
  • Huawei U8220 (Android-based)  –  44 seconds
  • My home PC (Windows Vista-based) – 61 seconds
  • My work laptop (Thinkpad T61, OpenSUSE Linux 11.2) – 60 seconds

Time after PIN/Login code entry to become usable

  • HTC TouchPro (Windows Mobile 6.1-based)   –  27 seconds
  • Nokia Xpress Music  –  10 seconds
  • Huawei U8220 (Android-based)  –  7 seconds
  • My home PC (Windows Vista-based) – 15 seconds
  • My work laptop (Thinkpad T61, OpenSUSE Linux 11.2) – 25 seconds

Thus my work mobile actually takes a bit longer time than either PC as well as the other mobile phones to become usable. And on both PCs I could shave some time by having less stuff run at boot and login time

The battery time for the HTC is the worst of them also, followed by the Huawei. The Nokia beats them by far, but then it also does not offer the same amount of power consuming features as the other two.

I like the HTC hardware – the combined touch screen and keyboard is quite nice, but would not mind replacing the software. The cool toy is of course the Huawei. I would love to see a bit shorter start-up time there as well, but it is tolerable at this point.

Categories: Gadgets
