STO is CoX 2

March 14, 2010

I have been playing mainly City of Villains and some Star Trek Online lately. It strikes me that in spirit, STO feels more like CoV/CoH 2 than Champions does.

Both game have

  • Heavy instancing with similarly looking environments
  • Instances scale based on team size
  • A few archetypes with a fair amount of flexibility in skills to pick
  • Not forcing or requiring teams, but proving a bit nicer experience if you do
  • Task forces
  • Newspaper/safeguard/patrol missions

While Champions certainly epanded upong superhero extravaganza and the ka-boom/freem/ba-rumble part, I think a fair amount of the thoughts that went into City of Heroes has found a new setting in Star Trek Online.

Note that I do not think this is bad – after all I have played CoV/CoH longer than any other MMO by far, despite some shortcomings. But I cannot help noticing that for me they feel more similar in spirit than either of them with Champions.

  1. Josh F
    March 16, 2010 at 14:42

    wat website is this game at

  2. March 19, 2010 at 04:02

    That is an interesting observation. I wonder if they felt compelled distance CO from CoX, and felt freer to borrow design elements for STO since the genre and setting distinguish it enough on their own.

  3. March 28, 2010 at 04:39

    E, ,,
    i like load~~~~

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
