Home > Other > Into Galactica

Into Galactica

February 14, 2010

At casa Sente, there is no TV. Well, a TV screen yes, but no TV receiver – no TV broadcasts are seen on that screen. There has not been much watching of TV in the past few years and last autumn the decision was made to get rid of any TV receiver (and thus the obligation to pay the Swedish TV license fee).

That does not exclude watching good TV series though, from time to time a good show can be bought on DVD or Blu-ray. Planet Earth is great BBC documentary that I watched before Xmas. I have also picked up a few SciFi TV series (complete) over the years, including Babylon 5 (my favourite), Farscape and Firefly.

My recent acqusition though has been the first season of Battlestar Galactica on Blu-ray. I have never seen the series before, neither the original nor the re-make. But it was highly recommended by some in-game friends from City of Villains/Heroes, so when a saw a package with the show at the shelf of the local Mediamarkt, I decided to pick it up.

So far I have seen two episodes and it is a good start indeed, looks promising. Will try to avoid googling on the subject though, since I do not want to run into any spoilers.

Categories: Other
  1. February 14, 2010 at 14:55

    BSG is the best SF series in the last decade imho.

    I tried to come up with more nerdy abbreviations, but that was the best I could do. Regardless, you are in for a treat.

  2. coppertopper
    February 14, 2010 at 15:01

    Well hope they have Netflix out where you live, because there is no going back once youve started watching that series.

  3. February 14, 2010 at 15:17

    @Copper: Netflix is a US business I think, so would not apply here. We have similar offerings from other companies here though.

    @Yeebo: BSG works fine 🙂

  4. Sleepysam
    February 14, 2010 at 15:36

    Enjoy it’s a good ride we are on season 3

  5. February 15, 2010 at 03:32

    There is NO turning back. The show was into the final season when I got hooked. My son good hook in close succession and it was a white knuckle ride once we’d caught and had to wait each with for a new episode. BEST sci-fi series of the last decade, possibly longer.

  6. February 15, 2010 at 14:32

    We (the no prisoners no mercy team we) got rid of our televisions over a year ago and haven’t missed them since. Like you, we have the televisions themselves to play dvds, but even they they are rarely used. Our recent acquisition was in the form of a gift – six months of netflix. I think we have ordered one dvd sent to us…the rest of the time we watch their streaming video.

  7. February 16, 2010 at 16:12

    I have yet to see any of the new series, but then again I haven’t seen any of Lost yet either 😛 However, with us cutting our cable TV and going to net streaming exclusively, it opens the doors for a lot of shows like BSG.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
