Home > Champions Online > Ais Kreem’s final ding

Ais Kreem’s final ding

December 26, 2009

My superheroine Ais Kreem has now reached the max level in Champions Online, level 40.  This is the first character for me to reach max level in this game and it has been a fun ride getting there! For a casual gameplay where I have played in mostly short sessions with a character it has worked out fine. Most of the time solo and sometimes in a team. Getting together a team with other supergroup members or a PUG has been quite straightforward also, most of the time.

Fighting evil, in all shapes and forms

Fighting evil, in all shapes and forms

Ais Kreem started out with some Ice powers, which has been the primary power choice, but then mixed in with a few other powers from Supernatural, Gadgeteering and Telepathy powersets. It has been fun playing around with different combinations.

One of the concerns has been that there has not been enough content if one does not want to grind mobs. Perhaps this has changed a bit during the course of the play and more content has been added, but at the time of reaching 40 I had a bunch of missions still in my mission log, a number of them I knew were around but I had not picked up yet and I have still some of the lairs (5-man instances) left to do. I have picked up a few of the “grind” oriented repeatable missions (kill 150 mobs of X in Y, collect 20 of Z from mobs in W), but generally only completed them if that happened automatically while doing other missions.

Lemuria is a neat zone to swim around in

Lemuria is a neat zone to swim around in

I have no definite favourite of the five outdoor zones in the game – Southwest Desert, Canadian Wilderness, Millenium City, Monster Island and Lemuria. I liked the Stronghold prison area in the desert and it was nice to have the big green monster Grond jump around everywhere and wreck havoc. The Canadian terrorist group Hunter-Patriots,  VIPER, Teleois clones and other groups in Canada was also fun. Millenium City was a mixed bag I think, some good points, but also some less exciting parts. Monster Island has been pretty cool and the underwater world of Lemuria is quite neat also – I like the higher emphasis on playing around in 3 dimensions there.

Soviet submarine captain zombies can be a bit grumpy

Soviet submarine captain zombies can be a bit grumpy

Another fun part are the Nemesis encounters. My Nemesis which I created at level 25 is still going strong, plotting ways to take over the world and other matters that are typically something that is the day-to-day life of an evil mastermind.  So I have had to put him jail, stop various plans and deeds and sometimes also saved the world from evil, triggered but my dear Nemesis. Quite enjoyable and we are still going strong.

Dr Jadernij Vek, my nemesis, plotting to release an old evil creature

Dr Jadernij Vek, my nemesis, plotting to release an old evil creature

By reaching level 40 I have now joined UNITY, a group tasked with fighting crime hotspots all over the world (well, the 5 zones in the game at least). Instead of xp one receives some UNITY mission points, which can be used for various things – I have not checked this yet.

Who laid this egg?

Who laid this egg?

Almost at the same time as reaching max level for my character, she also reached the max skill level in crafting, 400 in Science. The crafting has not been a huge part of the experience, but there has come out a few useful items and outfits from it. Cryptic has expanded a little bit on what you can make here also during the past months. It is a nice-to-have extra activity, but not something that would be the main attention in gameplay.

For those that wonder how long it took – my /played time was a bit more than 5 days and 5 hours I guess (did not check when I dinged), i.e. around 125 hours.

Onward towards new heroics

Onward towards new heroics

Categories: Champions Online
  1. December 27, 2009 at 06:32

    That’s was the first impression of the top I’ve read from someone who didn’t gun up there withing a few weeks of launch. Grats on hitting 40 🙂

  2. December 28, 2009 at 15:40

    Congratulations on hitting 40. My highest is 32 and I haven’t hit any content gaps either. I think that’s a benefit of playing at a slower pace, you’re far enough behind that initial wave that the devs have already been able to smooth out the major rough spots.

  3. December 28, 2009 at 20:01

    I agree – I do not really see any need to rush; there will always be rough spots in a new MMO.

    They have added a few missions I think, but they have also made some missions easier to find also – I think one problem before was that there were a number of missions that people did not know existed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
