Home > Champions Online > New items in the Champions Online store

New items in the Champions Online store

October 20, 2009

Since the release of Champions Online, the only items available in their game store has been a few action figures. Not it seems that the store has expanded with a few more items.

Payments are made with Cryptic Points, where 80 points correspond to 1 USD currently.

There are a number of costume sets available, including a few Halloween costumes. Each costume set costs 3 USD basically. There are some emblem packs which are 1 USD per pack. These packs unlocks the costumes and emblems for all characters on the account.

Additional character slots go for 15 USD for four slots.

Two additional costume slots (for all characters) cost 5 USD – you can get up to 4 costume slots normally in the game – 3 individual and one supergroup.

There are also character rename and full retcon (a.k.a respec in some other games). The rename seems to cost less than in other games who provide this (3.50 USD). The retcon feels a bit expensive to me at 12.50 USD – especially since it is just to use with one character.

I have never used a full retcon myself yet, not even the ones thay have given for free in the game during power changes in the game. And the limited (up to 10 choices) retcons can still be made in game without any real money input. So it may never come to that I would buy a full retcon. Still, my gut reaction was that the full retcon was expensive.

As it is now there is nothing that immediately strikes me as something I would want to buy – maybe 1 or 2 of the costume sets. I do think it is good that they have expanded the store beyond the action figures now and get a better understanding of what they will offer and what it will cost.

Categories: Champions Online
  1. October 20, 2009 at 13:37

    I really only want the halloween heads and the beast costumes… but it’s great to see them start to fill out the store with stuff. I’m stoked to see what else comes along.

  2. October 20, 2009 at 15:22

    I am thinking of using the beast costume for my Soviet robot soldier and the samurai costume set might also be something for alternative costumes for some characters.

    Halloween is an “imported” event here and does not really have the same significance as it may have in the US, so I don’t care much for those pieces.

  3. October 20, 2009 at 15:40

    The beast costume was the only thing I’m interested in, specifically the metal wings.

    I was happy to see the name change and retcon listed. I have no plans to use them, but it’s nice to know I can pay to change a character in the late game if I have a major concept change. I don’t see that ever happening, but its nice to have options.

    The forums have been bubbling with a pretty normal about of angst today over the announcement.

  1. October 21, 2009 at 07:05
Comments are closed.
