Home > City of Heroes > The 300th ding

The 300th ding

April 26, 2009

Last night my mind/ice dominator Niefelheim hit his final ding, reaching level 50. So what is this 300 coming from? That is the total number of levels on the 6 dominators I have in City of Villains, i.e. all of them are now at max level.

It was roughly 2 years ago that I decided to create characters with the dominator archetype, covering all powersets available. It was simply the most fun archetype for me in City of Heroes/Villains, so I wanted to try the different powerset combinations available. There were a few false starts until I found the powerset combinations I was reasonably happy with to play.

Initially I had a goal to get all the pets available to dominators (available at level 32 for 5 powersets) but once that was reached, the goal transformed into getting them all to max level, at some point. But that should not happen due to hours and hours of grinding – I have been through such a phase years ago in Earth & Beyond and I am not going through that path again. This became a bit of a problem on the villain side of the game – if you have played through most of the content several times before, motivation and fun can be challenging to muster. For a while I thought it would perhaps never happen.

But the saviour here was Mission Architect – suddenly there were literally thousands of new arcs to try out. Even though some were perhaps not top notch, it was still new and a variation on the traditional content. Thus it is still preferable to playing the old content. 

niefelheim_lgtfThe same goes really for pretty much all of my villain characters. It will mainly be Mission Architect content that I play with them and anything new that might pop up in future releases. 

At this point I have no further urge to get a character to max level and I might actually spend more time playing the characters that are already at max now also. For me it has been a very nice milestone to reach.

Categories: City of Heroes
  1. April 26, 2009 at 17:04

    Congratulations! I have a vague goal of getting all the archetypes to 50, although I am not sure if I want to count both types of Kheldian and Soldier of Arachnos as different classes for that purpose. If I buy a pack of slots for my main server, I can get them all there. Tempting, what with Architect. I am mostly missing the villain classes, including Dominator. My SG just never made a big red-side jump, after our first 50 or two over there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
