Home > The Chronicles of Spellborn > Is Spellborn released in my area?

Is Spellborn released in my area?

December 7, 2008

Go back in time about 3 weeks – around that time I thought The Chronicles of Spellborn would be released in 11 countries at November 27th-28th according to the tcos.com web site.

Go back in time about 1 1/2 week – around that time I thought The Chronicles of Spellborn would be released in 3 countries on November 27th and 8 countries on December 5th. The change was due to a slip-up from publisher Mindscape who could not get the game boxes out in time.

Present time: Spellborn was released in Germany on November 27th and in 4 countries (France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Netherlands) on December 5th, according to the tcos web site.

There is no mention of the remaining 4 countries for December 5th date; Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland. At first I thought, maybe someone slipped up and forgot to mention them since there were no announcements of any delays. And they only mentioned Germany as the country the game was released in the week before, which would be another mistake.

I registered at the eu-players.tcos.com web site and selected to subscribe to the game. Everything works fine up to the point of payment, which on gave a response of “not authorized”. Trying multiple credit cards and different time intervals (1, 3, 6 months) and different browsers all gave the same result.

I could still start my game client (since open beta), get it patched up and play the free2play setting, so I have played a few levels. But actually being able to pay for the game has not been possible.

So maybe the omission of a few countries in the announcement was not a mistake. I try some Swedish web sites that sell games and come up empty-handed, save for one site. I.e. only one of the web sites actually produced some result when searching for Spellborn- and that site listed the game release date as 2nd quarter 2009…

I try to go to the web sites for the alleged publisher Mindscape and search there and also come up empty-handed – no hits at all for Spellborn.

Some games have issues with big launches where the software may be buggy and unstable, or the servers cannot handle the initial load of players.

In this case the game actually seems to work pretty well and at least for the universe I selected to play in, there was no big chunk of players in the starter area. Instead the problems seem to be to actually let people play and pay. And how many of the people in the starter area have paid or will pay for the game?

Hopefully there will be some announcement or correction about the state of our countries up here in Northern Europe and that they may accept my money at some point. But right now it seems I will have to pass on this game for a while.

  1. Mallika
    December 7, 2008 at 10:42

    Hi there! First time reader here. I followed a link to your site from … ah … another blog (which one specifically, I can’t remember — I’m throwing links open all over the place to find new blogs I may have missed).

    I can’t even get into the game. My account says that my Spellborn access is ‘Pending’ and every time I try to log in through the client it keeps telling me my user/password is invalid. Sheesh.

    How is the game, by the way? I mean, at least in the first area(s) you could access.

  2. sente
    December 7, 2008 at 14:52

    The game is pretty nice; you can also look at my earlier post First Peek into Spellborn. That was from Open Beta, but the game now is pretty much the same as far as I can tell, with the exception of some quest bugs that has been fixed.

  3. sente
    December 7, 2008 at 14:54

    TCOS Support has said that they have a problem with credit card handling and that they are working on the problem.

    So it might mean that it should still be considered to be released here, hopefully.

  4. December 8, 2008 at 17:17

    The fact the first commenter said his account is “Pending” makes me ask…
    Are you in the US or the UK? Did you sign up at Acclaim?
    They have almost everyone pending there…lol

    But, this is starting to look ugly for these guys. And what is sad is the reviews so far are somewhat good, so, they could make a killing if they could iron out their issues.

    All I know is the US market is less than forgiving when a game does not go as planned (look at AoC and WAR players for examples of stupid “American” attitudes).

    Here is hoping it plays well when finally released everywhere.

  5. sente
    December 8, 2008 at 22:47

    They seem to have fixed the credit card issue, I could finally pay for the game.

    It will be a few days before I can actually play since I am on a business trip, but at least good to see some things going in the right direction.

  6. December 9, 2008 at 00:58

    Openedge, I live in Spain and I did sign up with Acclaim. It’s funny, I signed up with TCOS a really long while back and I hadn’t really looked into it very closely, which was why I didn’t think I’d have to make another account. Ah well.

    From what little I saw/heard on the login screen, both my husband and I like the music at least.

  7. sente
    December 9, 2008 at 05:56

    Unfortunately the current split of the European market between the different publishers makes it confusing, in particular since this was not clearly mentioned until quite recently.

    I do hope that they change this at some point and hopefully before they try to go live with any Acclaim-servers, because it will only diminish the total market for the game.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
