Home > Guild Wars > Guild Wars, perhaps for real this time

Guild Wars, perhaps for real this time

July 23, 2008

Guild Wars is a game I have had a strange relationship towards. I bought the original game (Prophecies) as well as Factions and Nightfall, but never played any of the campaigns particularly much. The highest level I reached in it was level 7 in Prophecies and even lower in the other two.

And this in a game which many says just has just started when you reach max level 20. The game has a number of qualities that made it interesting to me – the extensive respec options and flexibility  in terms of skills and attributes on your character, the quite nice load-on-demand system for updating pieces of the game, nice graphics without causing a major performance degradation, a crafting system that seems simple and viable etc. A number of things that my brain said “nice features” to.

But for some reason I stopped playing after at most a few hours each time I tried it.

That is, until now. Recently I was contemplating uninstalling it from the computer, but decided to try it again before though Nightfall campaign – just in case. And this time it was a bit different. Maybe they have done some changes to the game last time I tried. Whatever it is I got past the point where I usually stopped and I while there were some moments of confusion and what-the-…, I have started to quite enjoy it. And the main story missions also start to get quite interesting.

I have two new characters at the moment, one at level 11 (dervish/paragon) and one at level 7 (elementalist/mesmer) and I am feeling eager to try some other alts also.

Maybe this time Guild Wars will actually stick for a longer time period – time will tell.

Categories: Guild Wars
  1. July 23, 2008 at 23:04

    You Never Fight Alone, and all that! More than welcome to join us for our Tuesday Galavanting! Very casual weekly thing we seem to have going at the moment. We’re about from 8pm UK time…send me a whisper; Vivian Hemlock.

  2. July 23, 2008 at 23:48

    Nightfall is a good chapter overall. Particularly important is the addition of heroes. Heroes are customizable henchies that can, with proper set up, significantly ease the game. Nightfall story has many funny moments too. I really liked the theater performance, but to understand it, you have to play some Prophecies. Although Guild Wars has many shortcomings, it is still the best free to play MMORPG.

  3. July 24, 2008 at 02:57

    Yep, I’ve been rolling with Van Hemlock as well each Tuesday, and I’m quite often in GW at other times during the week. Feel free to add me to your friend list and contact me in-game, I’m usually up for helping people out and such. IGN Benjeth Lorhall.

  4. sente
    July 24, 2008 at 08:59

    Sounds good all 🙂

    Heroes and henchmen in general are certainly an interesting touch, have picked up 3 heroes but have not done any change in their setup except spend attribute points on what may seem useful with the current skill set.

  5. July 24, 2008 at 17:42

    If you are going to pick up more heroes, consider this multipurpose build:

    http://celestialkitsune.wordpress.com/2008/01/31/team-build-for-vanquishing/

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
