Home > City of Heroes > Smooth City life

Smooth City life

February 12, 2008

Today the “Issue 11.5” update went live for City of Heroes/Villains, which provided a good amount of updates to the game.

One of the changes that will affect most players are the smoothening of the leveling curve. XP gained for fighting enemies have been increased in general, but to a more significant extent in two level ranges – 13-20 and 36-50. I had a go with one of my dominators at level 46 to see if the increase was noticeable.

It certainly was noticeable. My guess is that the increase for the missions I did was in the ballpark of 25-40% increase. I did not record exact numbers before the update with the same level and difficulty setting, so it is entirely subjective.

On top of that they have also decreased the amount of debt received at death.

While I am not entirely surprised at the level ranges they have increased XP for I would have guessed that the high 20s/low 30s would have some love also. At least that is the level range where my characters kept getting “stuck”. But that could also be related to the missions to some extent.

I think it is positive now that even at the higher levels a character will not be able to play through all of the contacts and content; this will provide some needed variation when playing alts.

Another noticeable change is the combat attribute display. This provides some real numbers on how much various powers and enhancements affect your character. The list of values available is quite large. By right-clicking an attribute it can be added to a monitor window (see upper left in picture for an example), allowing a player to show selected attributes while playing.

Combat Attributes

It was a bit revealing to see exactly how much some powers affected certain attributes, but I am not so sure I will have much of it displayed permanently. It does not show timers for powers and buffs, which I think would be useful to see. Today I use HeroStats for that. But it is a nice addition.

Many other changes are also included in the update,but these were the ones that pretty much everyone would be affected by, so that was what I looked at first. And so far it seems like a quite nice update.

Categories: City of Heroes
