Home > City of Heroes > Fighting the invasion – first week

Fighting the invasion – first week

August 1, 2007

There has now been a week since the Issue 10 content update for City of Heroes/Villains was released. It has literally been a blast!

The Rikti War Zone (RWZ) is where the bulk of the new content is. In the past week I have almost exclusively played three characters

  • Sarek, my plant/thorns dominator
  • Baron Nuit, my broadsword/dark armor scrapper
  • Frieda, my illusion/radiation controller

Of those actually only Sarek has high enough level to get into the RWZ, so my experience in that zone after release has been pretty much limited to that one. The other two have mostly experienced the Rikti bomb raids when they have been out saving Paragon City’s citizens from harm. The bomb raids to a pretty good job on setting the mood when the raids start – the sky darkens and after a while one can hear the sirens warning about the bomb attacks. Then you will likely see the Rikti bombers at some parts of the zone.

During some bomb raids not much was happening, not many players were engaging. But sometimes it clicked better and big groups gathered to destroy the bombs that had not exploded and fight back the Rikti warriors beaming down. Really fun at times!

I have actually much more on the hero side than I usually have done in the past, I think I have two heroes here that I like and will continue playing. Most of my previous hero attempts stopped are not too many levels and the highest ones have been in low 20s, while I have several villains that are 30+. Since I have not played that much on hero side there will be a lot of story arc and zones that will be new to me, which is a good thing. While I like the story arcs on the villains side in general, there is not enough to have variation for several characters going through the levels, especially when you get to the 30s. The RWZ does address that to some extent.

My villain Sarek is currently not so far in the story arcs as far as mission goes, but has participated in a number of the other story arc missions. The stories feels pretty solid from what I have seen and it has been great fun.

The RWZ seems most of the time be running in either 2 or 3 instances, it is quite understandable since it is the first non-PvP zone for both villains and heroes – more people to play and team with. Teaming has not been a problem and most of the time I have been playing in full or nearly full teams.

This last Sunday we had a run of the new Task Force with Issue 10, the Lady Grey Task Force. We started you with 6 guildies (3 villains and 3 heroes), but since it requires 8 persons to start the task force, we had to PUG for the remaining two. It was a quite nice and fun task force, with 5 different missions. I did not time it, but I think we spent around 4-5 hours in total. It might go a bit faster if one would not try to clear each area and exit each mission when it is finished. Most of it was good fun, although the first mission failed for us.

I am not writing any details about the content of the task force here, partly because I forgot to capture all of it for pictures and we will do another run of the task force next Sunday. I will probably write something more detailed then, assuming I remember to capture the missions (long live /demo_record command).

For those that want some info on the Task Force, look rather at the Paragon Wiki entry for Lady Grey Task Force. If you do not want any spoilers, skip that entry and skip my blog entry when I write about it in a week or so. The wiki entry above will tell you mission objectives and enemy and ally NPCs/mobs to be encountered.

In summary, the past week has been a lot of fun in the game, both in and outside the Rikti War Zone.

Categories: City of Heroes
